Reporting for Castro Valley Patch.com

After my hiatus from video journalism (I have been doing some theater acting), I felt the itch to dust off my camera and get back to the journalism hustle again. This time, I found an opportunity at Patch.com.

Patch.com is owned by AOL, and apparently the giant company built numerous hyper local sites across the nation. I applied for the one in Castro Valley called Castro Valley Patch.com. I actually looked everywhere for a new gig and a lady named Angela Bass got back to me and said that she had been looking for a freelance reporter for the upcoming site. I of course jumped into this opportunity.

My first assignments were not as exciting as the Oscar Grant trial or the San Bruno fire explosion. Instead, I was assigned to do a story on the town’s Farmers’ Market, exhilarating (cough* sarcasm cough*). Also, Angela told me to do a “man on the street” video piece about what makes Castro Valley unique, which is actually a challenge considering I don’t know the answer myself.

Surprisingly, I thoroughly enjoyed filming the Farmers Market piece, and I did not run out of things to mention in the story. I got some really good visuals from those colorful vegetables, fruits, flowers, etc. Plus, the people I interviewed were engaging, charming and compelling- they did not answer the typical “I like to go here because of the community”. Not that there’s anything wrong with supporting your community, but that’s predictable and for a video piece, you would want to watch it because it’s something different and intriguing.

I underestimated both stories (Farmers Market and Unique Castro Valley) as “fluff”. But you know what? I realize both were quite refreshing compared to the heavy serious stories I have covered in the past. They served as a nice warm up as I gradually return to the video journalism world. Besides, we could allneed some good news.

STORY 1: FARMER’S MARKET STORY

STORY 2: “WHAT MAKES CASTRO VALLEY UNIQUE? “(I LIKE THE VIMEO QUALITY BETTER THAN THE PATCH VERSION)

http://vimeo.com/15182690

Leave a Reply

