The Freelancer’s Dilemma

Whenever a great topic strikes me, I often couldn’t wait to start.. But when the logistics of getting the story also dawn upon me, I get discouraged. Which camera can I borrow? What day is the shoot? How many days are in the shoot? How can I get my subject to talk? How much am I gonna get paid for this again?

Whenever I equate what I have to go through versus how much I get paid for to do it, I find that it’s never balanced. I don’t want the quality of my work to suffer, but if I go all out, I would end up broke… having to make all the long distance phone calls, trips, gas, and so on and so forth. I almost wished I work for an organization that just employs me to do what I want, but of course, that’s never possible because they own you. They give you one crappy assignment after the other, until you forget why the hell you entered the industry in the first place. So I guess it’s a trade off now that I’m going freelancing. It just sucks because either way, you lose or do you? Thankfully I have a day job to pay the bills, speaking of which, I need to get back to it.

Leave a Reply

